Terrific Ampersand products for students

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I’m preparing for a watercolor workshop that I will be instructing at Sunny Point, a cozy cottage on the water at Keuka Lake in the Finger Lakes, in upstate New York. Sunny Point is part of the Yates County Arts Center. The lake is surrounded by first class wineries and by the picturesque town of Hammondsport. We first discovered the area, years ago by camping At Hickory Hills, well, I’ll admit more like RV-ing with more amenities than we possibly need but do enjoy. Our  “camping” trips to Hickory Hill consisted of body massages, wine tasting and soaking up the sun in the pool, that’s my way of camping.

I want to give a millions thanks to Ampersand Art Supply for providing samples for the students  to play and have fun. My kids will definitely enjoy them! We will have small samples to paint and 8×10″ Claybords to mount a watercolor. Painting Ampersand samples

I’ll be teaching quite a bit about color, how to maximize their pigments, creating vibrant flowers and then mounting we will mount onto a Claybord and much more. I’ll be sharing our progress here, stay tuned! I’m looking forward to meeting new artists!

If you are in the Penn Yan area, stop by the Yates County Arts Center where I’m proud to be sharing an exhibit “Thyme in a Garden” along with Linda Huey and Nancy Ridenour. Here a few of my watercolors mounted on Ampersand Claybords.

Watercolors on Ampersand Claybords

The exhibit will be available to the public till June 16, 2012, the gallery is located at 119 East Elm St, Penn Yan, NY 14527.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Terrific Ampersand products for students

  1. Ginny 06/04/2012 at 5:47 pm Reply

    When is the workshop, Peggy? My husband’s family lives in the Elmira/Horseheads area and he and my son will be up there in July (I will be at a reunion in Virginia at the same time; I am usually with them as well). Is this an annual event? Will you be doing other workshops there during the year?

    We live in Tennessee, so it’s quite a drive up there, but I love the area and any excuse to visit (as well as see family in the area). Do you have any other info about the workshop you can post or is it on a website?

    Thanks! (Really wish I could attend)! Your work is stunning.

    ginny

    • Peggy Martinez 06/04/2012 at 5:53 pm Reply

      Hi Ginny,

      Thank you! The workshop starts this Wed. 6/6- 6/8/12, this is the only workshop I have scheduled for Penn Yan this summer. I will be teaching possibly in the fall in Brockport, a suburb of Rochester and at The Art Store, that may be an acrylic class. I would be happy to provide information for a workshop in Tennessee, I’ve never been there!

  2. Ginny 06/04/2012 at 7:39 pm Reply

    Hi Peggy – Thanks so much for your reply. Wow, I’d love to be able to be there for the workshop this week. Now that I have ‘liked’ you on Facebook, hopefully I can get a bit more of a heads up re: other workshops for the future and can plan accordingly. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you may do another up in Penn Yan, or perhaps eventually in Tennessee!

    Thanks again – and hope you have a great time at the workshop!

    • Peggy Martinez 06/04/2012 at 8:07 pm Reply

      You’re very welcome! I hope we do meet in the future, I’ll keep you in mind if anything comes up!

Leave a Reply

