Imagine what it’s like not to breath

This year I decided on New Years day to get fit and lose weight, like everyone else, I believe it must be the #1 resolution…every January. So, I started slowly by walking and jogging on the treadmill for at least 30 minutes a day. I then added 10 minutes exercises from my dusty collection of DVD’s. I slowly built up to 30-45 minutes and added weights. I hit a plateau after 6  weeks, so I mixed up the exercises and increased weights from 5 to 8 lbs. End of February I discovered “Sparkpeople.com” and printed their training schedule to run a 5K in 5 weeks! Let me emphasize that the most I could jog or run was 2 minutes!

I’m proud to say that I finished the training and I’m running 3 miles, but all on a treadmill. I joined a good friend who runs 1/2 marathons to run at an outdoor High School track last Saturday because I thought it would be good to run outdoors. It was 32 degrees and windy, although the sun was out, I didn’t see it as a challenge.

Once we started running I was out of breath and wheezing, I’ve heard my sisters, mother and my daughter wheeze but have never experienced what it’s like to not be able to breath and to wheeze. This was a true eye opener for me and I all I could remember was my poor sister feeling this way since she was 5 months old and my mother trying everything possible to bring her relief.

We mostly walked the 3 miles and I was extremely disappointed in myself. My sister was a beautiful, smart and strong woman and if she could accomplish the things she did I will run a 5K, just for her. So, today I registered along with my friend Millie to run my 1st 5K on Mother’s Day for the Breast Cancer Coalition of Rochester. I will continue to run outdoors and try my best. If you would like to make a donation for our team “miles4Cure” you can do so at the following link: http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/peggymartinez/2012-annual-pink-ribbon-run–family-fitness-walk

Oh, by the way I’ve lost about 12 pounds and counting, the Easter chocolate set me back a little but it was good!

Breast Cancer Coalition of Rochester

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

